What God Wants

I’ve met a lot of people who are under the idea that following God means becoming a slave to someone else’s idea of what your life should be. That you lose all your dreams and desires and become a robot summoned only by “some deity’s” whims.

I am no expert and have a lot to learn myself yet I feel that nothing can be further from the truth.

God never intends you to live short of what you want your life to be. Rather, through a close relationship with Him, you will begin to discover that not only are you able to be all that you dream of becoming, you will also become this person by walking the path that God intended for you, which means you will be blessed with much, much more than you ever thought possible.

You dream of finding your true love? Get in touch with God and let Him reveal to you your future spouse at the right time and under the right circumstances. So not only will you find your true love but you two will also get married, have kids and be equipped both financially and emotionally for it all.

You see yourself working in a certain business sector? Pray to God about it. Be specific about what you see yourself doing, where your office is and even what salary you will be getting. God will put the right people in your path so that you will find your exact prayers answered, all in His precise timing so don’t ever settle.

You pray for peace in your days and joy in your home? God will reveal to you what you need to do exactly, in order to repair your broken relationships. He will guide you gently in reaching out to your family members and your friends and will tell you what to say and when to say it. And you will see that that only then will peace and joy come to your heart and in your home.

Some atheists say that they don’t need God in order to live full and meaningful lives, that they only need to depend on themselves to “captain their own ships” and I say well, and good. I wonder who planted those dreams and desires in their hearts in the first place? See, you don’t need to be faithful to God…He is always faithful to you. Choose to acknowledge Him or not for the way your life is heading, He is still taking care of you.

My twin once wrote that the real adventure of your life begins the moment God steps in and I couldn’t agree more. I thought I lived a pretty exciting life and you only need to go back a couple of years in this blog to see what I mean. But all those years of chasing after what I wanted—-well, what I thought I wanted—- only resulted in frustrated circles (both metaphorically and literally—-under my eyes, that is.)

I needed Him to open up long forgotten dreams in my heart. I needed Him to remind me of the things I once prayed to Him as a child, the things I truly wanted in life, the same desires He had put in my heart before the world snatched them away.

Jesus has put me back on track. He has also put together the broken glass and healed the wounds the shards have made.

It startles me to wake up in the morning and to realize that I am living the life that I have always dreamed of having. He gave it to me all, and even more. Now everything else is just icing on the cake.

Surrendering your life to Jesus may sound dramatic…and to those used to having their own way, maybe even a little traumatic. But it does’t mean having to give up who you are along with your deepest desires and dreams. Rather, God will turn you into the truest version of yourself, with all the interesting and quirky parts intact. Don’t worry about losing yourself when you place your life in the hands of your Maker. At most, He will only want to turn a few loose screws. He made you, after all. He simply wants to enhance you and get you to function even better than before.

So what does God want?

Chances are good that it’s similar to what you want……only a million times better.

About reformedrockstar

I'll tell you what I'm not. I'm not a radio DJ, a TV host, an events host, a tattoo artist nor a bad ass rock chick bass player. I am quite simply, a child of God. This blog is His story. :) View all posts by reformedrockstar

6 responses to “What God Wants

Leave a Reply

M.A.R.S. on Earth

Music. Arts. Runway. Soirees.

I for India

Following my bliss to Incredible India Dream

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

Proverbs 31:30

"Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

Manong Yagi

is having his cake and eating yours too.

godschick

Real God, real life

patti tells stories sometimes

Tales from Manila, Philippines

The Memoir-Graphy

...Because every memory lives.

LYNCABILING!

an ordinary person used by God to do extra ordinary things!

Pieces of Me

All my life, all of me, held in His hands

Sweet Cloud of Mine

Thoughts that make you stop and look up

In Bullet Points

keeping it short but not sweet

