On buttered toast and other things

Butter on toast is really good. More than the greasy fried breakfast food we like to pile our plates on high with sometimes, there is something so….simple and real about butter on toast. Of course I am talking about 100% butter here. None of that long-lost distance cousin of it called margarine please. Butter, real butter, is worth the extra splurge.

Some of you are probably asking why such a mundane thought merits a blog entry. If you would be so kind to scroll left, right or up on this website, you will probably notice that I have a taste for drama. For long-winded entries filled to the brim with vivid imagery or at least declarations that are read best while pounding on one’s chest with eyes rolled heavenwards and filled with crystal tears. I’d always let a few good weeks pass before I sat down to compose a blog entry. In my head, each one had to be stuffed with epiphanies and personal revelations or else it was no good.

It hit me. My blog entries were the equivalent of a big, fried, greasy breakfast. Rich and robust, perhaps, but hard to digest.

So this morning, whilst I crunched on the clean and uncomplicated goodness of my breakfast, I made a decision. It occurred to me that my blog entries need not to be sprawling servings of fried meat, garlic rice, cheese omelette and hot chocolate all the time. It takes too much time to prepare and frankly, it is also recipe for indigestion. Plus, as this morning’s breakfast has so graciously revealed to me, plain butter on toast can just be as satisfying.

Thus, I welcome you to the quiet unveiling of my new blog. There won’t always be powerful declarations nor moving testimonies (although these will most definitely pop up from time to time). For most part, it will just be about a 30-something woman and her life as a “newly married” / “struggling artist” (I’ve always wanted to use that) with a baby well on its way (anytime now!!!).

The entries that will follow may be simpler and a lot plainer but I guarantee you, they will be 100% butter. (And a lot easier to digest!)

Enjoy!

p.s. And since this is blog space and I can do whatever I want with it, I’m also going to be posting some of my artwork here too.

p.p.s. As always, you are welcome to comment, encourage and yes, throw violent reactions at me.

A doodle of Amy Winehouse after her death in 2011.

A doodle of Amy Winehouse after I learned of her death in 2011.

About reformedrockstar

I'll tell you what I'm not. I'm not a radio DJ, a TV host, an events host, a tattoo artist nor a bad ass rock chick bass player. I am quite simply, a child of God. This blog is His story. :) View all posts by reformedrockstar

4 responses to “On buttered toast and other things

Leave a Reply

M.A.R.S. on Earth

Music. Arts. Runway. Soirees.

I for India

Following my bliss to Incredible India Dream

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

Proverbs 31:30

"Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

Manong Yagi

is having his cake and eating yours too.

godschick

Real God, real life

patti tells stories sometimes

Tales from Manila, Philippines

The Memoir-Graphy

...Because every memory lives.

LYNCABILING!

an ordinary person used by God to do extra ordinary things!

Pieces of Me

All my life, all of me, held in His hands

Sweet Cloud of Mine

Thoughts that make you stop and look up

In Bullet Points

keeping it short but not sweet

