Five things my tattoos can teach my kid

One of my pet peeves used to be was whenever someone asked me what my tattoos mean. To be honest, I just like how they look on my skin. I guess the fact that I couldn’t wax philosophical about their deeper significance was what irritated me most. But people are people and people will always ask so I just learned to shrug and play along and manage to give convincing answers. For awhile, I was fine—-until the day I learned I was pregnant.

Suddenly, I began to imagine the day my kid would look at my tattoos and then at me with wide-eyed wonder. “What do they mean, mama?” the little one would ask and suddenly, laughing the question off or cracking some feeble joke no longer seemed like a viable option.

Tattoos can simply be decorative, alright but they can also tell stories. And if they can serve a better purpose, like teaching my kid a thing or two about life, then I’m not about to let that chance to slip past me.

So, kid, here you are, things that my tattoos can teach you.

1) Red Flower (on my ring finger)

You have someone very special waiting for you.

There will be tears and there will be broken hearts, of course, but every failed relationship is God’s way of saying, “Nope, it’s not her. I’ve got someone better for you.”

I also learned a great tip from our pastor on how you can help make the process easier (I’m sorry this sounds so scientific). Write down your non-negotiables! What are the traits and values you envision your future wife/ husband to have? List them down. Otherwise, how will you know when “the one” is standing in front of you if you yourself don’t know what you want?

So don’t get antsy and don’t lose heart. If you haven’t met “the one” yet, you will.

2) Greek inscription translating to “True to His Own Spirit”

Find the one thing that makes your ears tingle, your cheeks grow hot and your heart beat twice as fast then pursue that with all of your heart, all of your mind and all of your soul. Be it writing, music, art, medicine, science, business, food, sports or haberdashery. Whatever it is, that’s what you are meant to be doing here on earth.  For God put that desire in your heart and gifted you with the accompanying skills and talents to make it possible.

So don’t be swayed by things like money, prestige or fame. These things have a way of muddling up God’s plan for you. If you get confused, pray. Let the Holy Spirit guide you.

3) Buddha

You will come across many different belief systems, religions and schools of thought as you grow older. You may even try subscribing to some of them as I have. Somewhere along the way, you may also be told that “all roads lead to the same path”. It sounds right, just about, but that doesn’t make it true.

Jesus Christ is the only way, the truth and the life.

Your father and I will be here to guide you but we can never make that decision for you. It is something that you may have to discover for yourself. And when you do, I promise you, baby. It will be fantastic.

4) Weed Bear

Somewhere down the road, you will also discover alcohol, drugs, cigarettes and everything else that goes with it. I am hoping that you won’t have to because I can already tell you one thing. That nothing, absolutely nothing, beats a natural high. The things that you will laugh manically about when stoned are zilch compared to the pure joy and child-like laughter that you get surrounded by your real friends. The alcohol-induced parties you will attend will be nothing compared to being fully immersed in the moment, with all your senses working properly, sober and thinking clearly.

And if you think music will sound better on alcohol, well, that’s just an urban legend alcohol companies spread around. Besides, the straight-edge kids are always the coolest. Ask anybody.

5)  Kid and Dog

Never lose your sense of wonder.  Hang on to the child in you , my love. For as you grow older, the world will try to pile on worries and fears and other frustrations on you, but these are just lies and illusions and traps. Don’t fall for them. Instead, take heart. For you have a wonderful and loving Father in heaven who’s always got your back and who’s got a beautiful plan for you. Just hold on to Him, and everything’s going to be fine.

Well, that’s it. All the wisdom my tattoos can offer.  I’ve got more than five, I know, but to tell you the truth, I just really like how the rest of them look on my skin. Besides for now, I’m just thrilled that if anyone ever comes up to me to ask, “What is the meaning of your tattoos?”, I can now give him a huge smile and say, “They’re life lessons for my kid.”  😉

About reformedrockstar

I'll tell you what I'm not. I'm not a radio DJ, a TV host, an events host, a tattoo artist nor a bad ass rock chick bass player. I am quite simply, a child of God. This blog is His story. :) View all posts by reformedrockstar

One response to “Five things my tattoos can teach my kid

Leave a Reply

M.A.R.S. on Earth

Music. Arts. Runway. Soirees.

I for India

Following my bliss to Incredible India Dream

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

Proverbs 31:30

"Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

Manong Yagi

is having his cake and eating yours too.

godschick

Real God, real life

patti tells stories sometimes

Tales from Manila, Philippines

The Memoir-Graphy

...Because every memory lives.

LYNCABILING!

an ordinary person used by God to do extra ordinary things!

the gospel of grace

saved by grace through faith. righteousness by faith.

Pieces of Me

All my life, all of me, held in His hands

Sweet Cloud of Mine

Thoughts that make you stop and look up

In Bullet Points

keeping it short but not sweet

