Embrace your Crazy

I’ve been called crazy a lot of times.

By my friends…by my own well-meaning relatives…and I’m sure by a lot  of other people who have seen me on TV. (In a bygone era, I was the host of a TV show called Peep Show on a cable channel called Jack TV).

Well, I can’t deny it.

I sure do look the part.

At last count, my tattoos have reached a total of  twelve. These tattoos include (in no particular order), an evil care bear, a half dinosaur-half monster thing with it’s tail cut off, and a girl playing with a dog (which I tattooed on myself).

Crazy, right?

I’ve also done some pretty crazy things in my life.

No need to elaborate here, but if you ever need evidence of my hardcore partying days, you only need to ask…I may still have some photos. (Kidding.)

Yep, my old life was pretty “out there”, alright.

If you ask me though, that life pales in comparison to what I have become now, since having met and accepted Jesus Christ in 2011.

Now, when you see me or read this blog, you may probably think, “Well, she’s gone off the deep end.”

But, hold on.

I don’t think crazy is all that bad.

Actually, I think crazy is an interesting thing to be. It denotes a certain restlessness or even rebelliousness with the status quo.

It means refusing to be tied down to what everyone else says and thinks. It yearns to see what is beyond the obvious. It takes amazing faith to be crazy.

Yeah, I don’t think crazy is so horrible.

In fact, now is probably a good time to point out that some the greatest men in the Bible were thought of to be somewhat of loony bins themselves.

Abraham was shaken heads at (by his own family) when he told them that God had promised him that he would be blessed with “descendants as numerous as the stars.”

Moses looked ready to be shipped to a mental institute when he proclaimed that he would free the Israelites from the Pharaoh’s iron-cast rule.

I’m sure Noah had more than his fair share of eye-rolling and behind-the-back-whispering when he began building that massive ark.

And David, the little shepherd boy, was laughed at when he stepped in front of the giant Goliath with his paltry weapon of choice.

All these guys went against the grain. They hurtled against the voices of the majority. They risked their reputations and even their own lives.

And for what?

To follow a Voice that no one else heard.

To trust in a God that no one else saw.

To stand by a Faith that on one else understood.

For everyone else, they were crazy.

But not everyone knows that crazy also means being courageous and standing up for what you believe in, in spite of the odds.

Because of these men’s “crazy”, God used them mightily and greatly, so that His amazing plan for us may unfold.

And if we’re going to talk about crazy, how about the greatest example the world has ever known?

2,000 years ago, a hippie in sandals walked around Galilee, spoke in parables, performed miracles and preached messages of love, grace and forgiveness. Half of  the time His own brothers thought He was out of His mind. His disciples couldn’t help but scratch their heads and shrug their shoulders at times.

You see, He didn’t care about being popular, He only cared about speaking the truth.

And for this, He was crucified and put to death.

He did this so that our sins may be forgiven and so that WE MAY LIVE.

I don’t think there is anything crazier than what Jesus Christ did for us. But because He defeated the grave and rose again,  here we are, washed clean, alive and truly free.

That’s what standing up for the Truth can do.

So the next time someone says that you’re crazy for believing in Jesus Christ and what He did at the cross, and for not being afraid to let people know… then God Bless You.

Because He is doing a great work in you, so that many may live.

About reformedrockstar

I'll tell you what I'm not. I'm not a radio DJ, a TV host, an events host, a tattoo artist nor a bad ass rock chick bass player. I am quite simply, a child of God. This blog is His story. :) View all posts by reformedrockstar

2 responses to “Embrace your Crazy

  • Patricia

    I think what’s amazing is being Christian doesn’t mean you suddenly become less you. It’s not suddenly being covered up in head to toe, talking Christianese and all the stereotypical stuff. I think having the Lord in your life means you actually become MORE of the you that you were always meant to be. Fearfully and wonderfully made. UNIQUE. So, crazy or not, you are beautiful and worthy and set apart simply because God loves you!

    Your blog is a blessing. Keep writing! ❤

    • reformedrockstar

      Thank you, Patty…That is a great insight. You do become more you, as you find out God’s purpose in you…Just one of the many amazing gifts He blesses us with. Thank you for your encouragement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

M.A.R.S. on Earth

Music. Arts. Runway. Soirees.

I for India

Following my bliss to Incredible India Dream

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

Proverbs 31:30

"Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

Manong Yagi

is having his cake and eating yours too.

godschick

Real God, real life

patti tells stories sometimes

Tales from Manila, Philippines

The Memoir-Graphy

...Because every memory lives.

LYNCABILING!

an ordinary person used by God to do extra ordinary things!

the gospel of grace

saved by grace through faith. righteousness by faith.

Pieces of Me

All my life, all of me, held in His hands

Sweet Cloud of Mine

Thoughts that make you stop and look up

In Bullet Points

keeping it short but not sweet

