What Happened Yesterday

Yesterday was one of those days.

I can’t pinpoint exactly what set it off. Maybe I just don’t remember. I am horrible at remembering.

I think it was a comment from someone I truly care about, an off-handed remark that I just took too seriously, too literally, too sensitively. (This sensitivity has landed me in shark-infested waters more often that I can count, by the way.)

Maybe it was a hurt that I nursed, or cradled and clung to for no other reason other than I could.

The day drew on and that bubble, that thing, that thought that made me feel so horrible, that thing I chose to hang on to, grew and grew and grew.

At one point, I knew that it had grown big. So big that I felt powerless next to it.

So big that it took over me. It took  over my thoughts, my words, and my actions.

This thing, this bubble, this hurt, this pain had completely overtaken me.

And how it changed everything.

The taste of my food, the color of the sky, the touch of my husband and the sound of my own voice speaking.

Suddenly, they weren’t the same. Without warning, they all seemed so dull. Without life, purpose or meaning.

What started out as an innocent little remark, one tiny little comment that I refused to let go of, ended up trapping me in a prison cell where only darkness surrounded me. In there, I couldn’t see the light.  I was trapped, unable to move and unable to budge. I couldn’t even breathe.

I knew that I was affecting the people around me and yet I couldn’t do a thing.

I felt chained, bound….defeated.

Or so I thought.

The enemy will stop at nothing to try and make us feel powerless, worthless, hopeless and defeated.

It preys in the deepest, darkest corners of our minds, stirring up our thoughts and trying its best to muck up our joy. It wants nothing more than to rob us of our light. It is happiest when we give in to its traps.

It works hardest in the minds of the believers as the battle for our souls rages on, fiercer than ever.

But take heart. There is nothing to fear.

Because of what Jesus did on the cross 2,000 years ago, we are victorious.

He drank the cup of our sins and took the punishment of our death so that we no longer have to.

He cried out, “It is finished!” then hung his head and gave up his spirit so that we may have life and enjoy it to the fullest.

It is finished. It is done. It is written. 

We have won the war.

We are victorious.

John 10:10  “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”

Isaiah 54:17 “No weapon forged against you will prevail, and you will refute every tongue that accuses you. This is the heritage of the servants of the LORD, and this is their vindication from me,” declares the LORD.”

1 Corinthians 15:57 “But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

The Bible overflows with verses that declare our victory over the enemy through Jesus Christ. Over and over again, we are reminded of how we have already won the battle.

How blessed are we to have the word as our weapon, each other as armor bearers and the Lord Himself as our source of eternal life?

Whom and what else shall we fear?

What  other reason do we have to feel, act or look defeated?

For what then was His blood shed on the cross if we keep on turning a deaf ear to His calls and a blind eye to His gift of salvation?

Christ died for us so that we may live.

This is the truth. It is the only truth that matters in this world.

Yet, sometimes…I still forget.

We all do.

That is why there are days like the day I had yesterday, when I gave in and caved in to the darkness. A moment of weakness that could have snowballed into a series of events that could have completely destroyed me. Sometimes, a moment is all it takes. A moment is all the enemy needs.

Don’t give in….Stand up, step out.

Declare with all your heart and all your mind and all your soul, “We are victorious in Jesus Christ!”

And watch all your enemies run away in fear.

“Father…Our Father in heaven, I thank you…for your love. I thank you that we are able to love others because You have shown us what it is like. Through your son Jesus Christ, who died on the cross for our sins, you demonstrated the greatest love of all, self-sacrificial love. And Father, I thank you….that because of what happened on the cross, You have set us free. Free from sin, free from defeat and free from fear…I am free to love and to live life to the fullest!

I thank You that because of Your love, I am able to experience fully the delicious taste of food, the wonderful colors of the sky, the comforting touch of my loved ones and the ability to freely worship You, sing Your name and dance like crazy!

Father, I thank you for this gift of life…I love you, Father, always and forever….In Jesus name, I pray…Amen.”

Be blessed today! 🙂

About reformedrockstar

I'll tell you what I'm not. I'm not a radio DJ, a TV host, an events host, a tattoo artist nor a bad ass rock chick bass player. I am quite simply, a child of God. This blog is His story. :) View all posts by reformedrockstar

One response to “What Happened Yesterday

Leave a Reply

M.A.R.S. on Earth

Music. Arts. Runway. Soirees.

I for India

Following my bliss to Incredible India Dream

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

Proverbs 31:30

"Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

Manong Yagi

is having his cake and eating yours too.

godschick

Real God, real life

patti tells stories sometimes

Tales from Manila, Philippines

The Memoir-Graphy

...Because every memory lives.

LYNCABILING!

an ordinary person used by God to do extra ordinary things!

Pieces of Me

All my life, all of me, held in His hands

Sweet Cloud of Mine

Thoughts that make you stop and look up

In Bullet Points

keeping it short but not sweet

