If I Have Ever Offended You

This afternoon I was going through YouTube and found a bunch of clips on awkward Christian scenarios.

There was the classic “Church invitation gone wrong”and the “How not to invite someone to church” situations.

One feature showed a Christian stalking a guy who turned down his invitation to go to church. He follows the guy around all day giving him sinister looks, and even chases him down the highway on foot. The clip ends in the guy’s bedroom where the Christian apparently followed him in that night. Creepy.

There was also a clip called “Stuff Christian women say” and an accompanying one for Christian men. Needless to say, these videos were hilarious because well, we have to admit…most of these Christian stereotypes can be true.

I know that I’ve offended my fair share of people with my burning faith, especially when I was new believer. I couldn’t help it. Like a teenager who had fallen madly in love for the first time, I couldn’t NOT talk about Him.

I know I’ve put off some of my old friends with my status messages that declared nothing else but Bible verses and overflowed with a gushing love for the Lord.

“What a self-righteous hypocrite.”/”What a weirdo.”/ “You can’t have a normal conversation with her anymore.” /”All she talks about is Jesus!”/”She’s bound to get burned by all that zealous nonsense.”

Yes, I’ve heard them all.

And it’s funny because there was a time in my life when all of this non-acceptance would have hurt me. In my old life, every bit of my self-esteem hung precariously on what other people thought and said about me. To have people think that I was crazy and to have my friends mock me for what I believed in, well, that would have done me in.

But, it’s no longer like that.

So instead, I’d like to apologize.

If I have ever offended you with my faith…I’m sorry.

I never meant to sound like I am better than you.

Because I’m not.

I am a sinner.

Every single day, I slip, I fall and I fail.

I get angry, confused, bitter and bewildered.

I cry out. I get tired. I bleed and I feel pain.

I am human, just like you.

But there is a difference now.

The difference is, now I know that our God is a loving God and He is not angry at us.

Now I know that our God is a forgiving God and no matter who you are and what you’ve done or where you are from…you are HIS.

And He forgives you.

And I may sin and slide and fall and fail but now I know that the answer is not to run away and hide in shame.

Because He is God and He understands.

Now I know that because I am human, I am a sinner and because I am a sinner…

I need a Savior….

I especially need a Savior.

That Savior is Jesus Christ.

You want proof of God’s love?

Romans 5:8 –  “But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

John 3:16 – “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.”

Romans 8: 37-39 – “No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

So…

If I have ever rubbed you the wrong way with my enthusiasm…. If I ever came across as pushy or tried insistently to invite you to church…If I ever seemed like that creepy stalker in one of those YouTube videos that I was just talking about…

If I ever seemed condescending, self-righteous, overzealous or just plain nuts to you…

I’m sorry.

And I will try but I can’t promise that I won’t do it again. Because this thing? This  thing I have has a life of its own. And it’s got a life of its own because it’s alive.  And it’s alive because it’s love.

And it just can’t help but overflow out to you.

But really, if I ever offended you at anytime….

I’m sorry.

I just wanted you to know that God loves you.

He loves you very, very much.

About reformedrockstar

I'll tell you what I'm not. I'm not a radio DJ, a TV host, an events host, a tattoo artist nor a bad ass rock chick bass player. I am quite simply, a child of God. This blog is His story. :) View all posts by reformedrockstar

Leave a Reply

M.A.R.S. on Earth

Music. Arts. Runway. Soirees.

I for India

Following my bliss to Incredible India Dream

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

Proverbs 31:30

"Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

Manong Yagi

is having his cake and eating yours too.

godschick

Real God, real life

patti tells stories sometimes

Tales from Manila, Philippines

The Memoir-Graphy

...Because every memory lives.

LYNCABILING!

an ordinary person used by God to do extra ordinary things!

the gospel of grace

saved by grace through faith. righteousness by faith.

Pieces of Me

All my life, all of me, held in His hands

Sweet Cloud of Mine

Thoughts that make you stop and look up

In Bullet Points

keeping it short but not sweet

