How Dylan Learned to Listen

When I came back to the Philippines in September 2009, my show in Jack TV had been cancelled. I never really found out why, no one really had a clear answer. I tried getting my job back in NU but by then the roster was set with a team of talented and responsible DJs who all deserved to be there. (By then, it would also be the third time that I had resigned and came running back so  I can understand the management’s decision to gently and finally say no).

Without the radio and the TV career, the hosting jobs became fewer and farther in between. I had little savings in my pocket, for the cash that I earned as a “personality” was quickly gobbled up by my appetite for extravagant spending. I turned to the classifieds and got a job as sales and marketing agent in a production house.

The job was fun, the people were amazing and the pay was good. But there can never be a hole so great and so disturbing as the one that gnaws on a person who is not fulfilling his intended purpose on earth. I was mechanical in my actions and often tried to compensate by outdoing myself in my tasks, over-performing and again trying to gain approval from my colleagues, my superiors, the crew, everybody.

Though there were smiles and there were parties, and a lot of good times in the office, I felt alienated. I felt stretched and tired and yet scared to face up to the truth. I did not belong in production, that was not what I wanted to do. It was not what I was made to do. But it paid the bills and it filled my days so I kept at it, once again turning to man, to alcohol, to empty evenings for comfort. I was afraid it was going to be a never ending cycle.

One day changed my life.

On the way back to the office after a meeting with a client in the city, I passed a tattoo shop on Makati Ave. Something  told me to go inside. It was P&P Tattoo, a beautiful shop with impressive equipment and as I soon found out, occupied by three big and  tough-looking tattoo artists. Propelled by an otherworldly courage, I asked one of them if I can apprentice at their shop. His name was Ron, one of the owners and who turned out to be very  friendly and accommodating. At that very moment, I made a decision: I was going to resign from my sales and marketing position and pursue my dream. I was going to become a tattoo apprentice.  To mark the occasion, Ron tattooed the om symbol on my right wrist.

I resigned from my sales position in August 2010 and began my apprenticeship in P&P. I made real friends, with people who were interested in the same things that I was. The place was enveloped in a positive vibe, filled with kind and gentle spirits who helped and encouraged one another. I was humbled. For once in all of my 28 years, I didn’t feel the need to prove myself, to be overly eager or to outdo myself at every turn.

I learned to quiet down and spend hours in deep concentration as I worked the machine or sketched a design. It was precisely during these intense moments of silence that I began to hear a light knocking in my heart and in the very depths of my soul. On some days, it was a whisper,  a gentle voice.  I couldn’t place my finger on what it was except that it was new and strangely beguiling.

Perhaps, when I learned to be still, the Lord finally found an opening to get through to me.

I believe that it was during this period that God began to reveal Himself to me quietly, patiently and gently…

It would be the beginning of the first and most beautiful courtship that I have ever encountered in my life.

 ‘Then I will give them a heart to know Me, that I am the LORD; and they shall be My people, and I will be their God, for they shall return to Me with their whole heart.”

– Jeremiah 24:7 (NKJV)

About reformedrockstar

I'll tell you what I'm not. I'm not a radio DJ, a TV host, an events host, a tattoo artist nor a bad ass rock chick bass player. I am quite simply, a child of God. This blog is His story. :) View all posts by reformedrockstar

8 responses to “How Dylan Learned to Listen

  • unidentifiedwalkingobject

    I’ve been following your blog for the past weeks now. I really like seeing a different side of the one who hosted the first concert I watched few years back.

  • David Dizon

    Yes! This is my favorite part of the week! Yeah! it’s when you post on this blog by the way, just in case you were wondering. And I also have to let you know that the last two sentences made me cry a little… just to let you know. See you next week. Have a good one! 🙂

  • Gwen Hirai

    A new beginning for you Karen, I’ve always loved reading your blogs Karen. Calms me down. 🙂 thank you

  • rizzarales

    hi ms karen. ive been a fan of yours since way back NU.. you”ve been an inspiration to me to push music and be to be a confident fine woman struggling in the “scene” .. same as you ..i think we have the same passion on things. everything is doing well around me now but still not happy. im lost as well.. reading your blog gives me hope and a chance to change my self. i wish i could find that peace that u have in your heart. more power to you.. =) youre so awesome..

    • reformedrockstar

      Hi Rizza! I’m so sorry I only came across your comment now. I wonder how you are? Being a woman in the rock scene is tough, we are expected to have this certain image. I spent a lot of my years putting on a face but deep down, I was constantly searching. The answer is Jesus. Get to know Him. He will take you and lift you high and you will experience a new kind of joy. The life you were meant to live. He will free you. 🙂 Trust me.

Leave a Reply

M.A.R.S. on Earth

Music. Arts. Runway. Soirees.

I for India

Following my bliss to Incredible India Dream

prophetbrahmarishi

Just another WordPress.com site

Proverbs 31:30

"Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised."

Manong Yagi

is having his cake and eating yours too.

godschick

Real God, real life

patti tells stories sometimes

Tales from Manila, Philippines

The Memoir-Graphy

...Because every memory lives.

LYNCABILING!

an ordinary person used by God to do extra ordinary things!

Pieces of Me

All my life, all of me, held in His hands

Sweet Cloud of Mine

Thoughts that make you stop and look up

In Bullet Points

keeping it short but not sweet

